Weekend Reading – Stuff we found interesting this week

September 17, 2011

Interesting Links

September 17 2011.

Welcome to our weekly roundup of the stuff we read that was interesting to us and hopefully to you.

I blogged about this article earlier in the week but Simon Johnson has done a good job of highlighting some of the issues we face toward a global recovery. Link is here

One of the issues is global Industrial Productions fall. In the absence of the Data Vault here is a link to the Data Diary and a quick post on IP

You have to wonder if the industrial revolution, with the wealth and equlaity it ushered in by offering people jobs, is being unwound. The Economist looks at the winners and losers in labour market trends here

The Chinese economy is getting huge – by 2030 it could be one of the biggest economies, interms of percentage of global economic power, the modern world has seen. From the Economist

Krugman on the ECB and Europe – An impeccable disaster

Anyone interested In High Frequency Trading what it is and how it works here is a few short videos via ZeroHedge that I saw during the week. I think HFT trading is one step beyond the evolutionary tract of markets and showed be taxed out of existence – but thats just my view. Link here

The anthropology of Bankers (via Naked Capitalism). Link here

Interesting article on Stanley Druckenmiller one of the best money managers of all time. Worth a read here 

I saw Star Wars when I was 10 years old at the Roxy Theartre Parramatta – I can still remember the smell of the Programme I bought (yes they had programmes back then for movies) and the ticket colour was green, I went in the right hand door and sat on the right hand side. So you can see it had some impact on me. SO I WAS EXCITED this week when I saw an AP story that NASA scientists have found a planet orbiting two suns. Guess what they called it – Tatooine!

Here is a bit of fun – Felix Salmon explains the Euro Crisis with Lego (HT MacroBusiness)

And of course the FT’s week in review

Have a great weekend

Greg McKenna

greg@lighthousesecurities.com.au

www.twitter.com/gregorymckenna

, , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Weekend Reading – Stuff we found interesting this week”

  1. tristencosgrove Says:

    I managed to have my parents take me 5 times to the movies to see “Star Wars” and a 6th time at the drive-in. I remember where i was sitting too. My Dad who is an electronics whiz made a Darth Vader belt for the school parade as well. I wish I knew where all my Star Wars figures are now. I had all of them. Obviously I have seem all of the series (many times). I also loved Alex P. Keaton of “Family Ties” and movies like “The Secret of My Success” all with Michael J. Fox. Thanks for reminding me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

